The Kitchen Series: Episode 1- Desserts

Back in the day before Pinterest was invented…yes back in those dark dark days….I used to tear out recipes from magazines. Which was great, it gave me binders upon binders of recipes to have on hand. The problem, once they made it to the binder they never left. The same thing seemed to happen with pins on Pinterest. So as one my bullet journal goals (not sure what a bullet journal is…check it out here) I am going to incorporate the kitchen series.

I picked a few sweet things to get back into the swing of things.

The first thing I made were cereal ice cream cups. This was a recipe I tore out a magazine and then put in my dessert binder. Basically these are rice krispie treats you shape into bowls. I used golden grahams because I thought they might hold together better. I used a cupcake tin to form the bowls. I wasn’t too impressed so this recipe met with the recycle bin.

The next one I tried was  Cookie Dough Ice Cream sandwiches. Major win! They are no bake, always a plus during hot summer days. The cookie dough doesn’t have eggs in it so it safe to eat (as if they would have stopped me). The recipe wants you to make them in more of a square shape but I liked the round shaping better. I had extra dough so I rolled those into balls and have been putting them into just plain ice cream as a fun add in. Highly recommended!

Another  Pinterest recipe I tried was  antique caramel cake. I had high hopes for this one. My family loves caramel but this was a let down. The only thing that makes it caramel is the frosting. The cake part is pretty bland and nothing special. This was one got the delete button even though I did like the caramel recipe.  I know  I won’t go back specifically for the recipe.

I hope to do a kitchen series post once a month, with a mix of Pinterest and binder recipes. Stay tuned for the next edition.

~E

Leave a Reply

