What to do about 35…..

for-blog

So I just celebrated a birthday….but I wasn’t really in the mood to celebrate 35. It just seems so old and I don’t feel 35. But the more I thought about it the more I realized I should celebrate it. Maybe not in the traditional sense with a big party but in acts of kindness. And because it’s me I thought it would be fun to do it in increments of 35. Through Facebook, magazines and blogs I have come across the following organizations that are doing great things and I am happy to support. So here is how I am taking 35 to a new level and you can take part if you want to as well (and might just help with your spring cleaning).

The first is Medals 4 Medals http://www.medals4mettle.org/ Medals4Mettle (M4M) is a non-profit organization that facilitates the gifting of marathon, half marathon, and triathlon finishers’ medals. Runners from around the world give their hard earned medals to Medals4Mettle. Their worldwide network of physicians and volunteers then awards these medals attached to a Medals4Mettle ribbon to children and adults fighting debilitating illnesses who might not be able to run a race, but are in a race of their own just to continue to live their life. It is in honor of this mettle and courage in bravely facing these challenges that they are awarded a medal.

My goal is to collect at least 35 medals to donate. If you any medals you want to donate let me know! 

The second is Heart Strides http://heartstrides.org/our-mission/. This group provides running shoes and gear to moms caring for children with a critical/chronic illness or a special need. They are looking for the following gear donations

  • Running shoes
  • Athletic pants/running pants/yoga pants
  • Athletic tops – sleeveless/short sleeved/long sleeve
  • Socks (new only)
  • Miscellaneous gear – headlamps, visors, etc.
  • Exercise DVDs (yoga, pilates, core/strength, etc)

Aside from monetary donations, they also accept gently used running gear, as well as gift cards to stores that sell athletic gear (they’ll scope the sales and buy new gear to send to Moms!). They also send gift cards for chain restaurants/coffee shops to families in the hospital with critically ill children, encouraging them to take a break for a few minutes without the guilt (of their time or their money). Gift cards are in high demand on the wish list!

I am hoping to collect 35 items and plan to send a few gift cards that total 35.00 dollars. If you would like to make a monetary donation I will use it to buy gift cards. 

The last is Girls Helping Girls. Period http://www.girlshelpinggirlsperiod.org/. Over the summer I collected feminine hygiene products for this group. I will take further feminine hygiene products but they are on a mission to collect 1000 bras for women in need.  

I am hoping to collect 35 bras to send. Below are full details and a mailing address in case you aren’t near me and want to donate.

bra

I am happy to come get items from you!  I will collecting through the end of March. Also, feel free to stray from my selected organizations and do your own act of “35” kindness. The most important thing is that we spread kindness!

Thank you for your support!!

 

 

One thought on “What to do about 35…..

Leave a Reply

