It’s a party. Period

Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world ~Desmond Tutu

I love this quote. People often think you have to do some bigthing to change the world but that isn’t always the case. Kindness is contagious and even the smallest bit of kindness can go along way.

A few months ago I read an article about 2 sisters who started Girls Helping Girls Period – a nonprofit organization that helps underprivileged women in the United States get access to pads and tampons. I was amazed to find out that food stamps don’t cover feminine hygiene products. As a woman I can’t imagine not having access to these basic supplies.  After looking at their website http://www.girlshelpinggirlsperiod.org/ I was inspired to help women in the St. Louis community, so I had a Party. Period. This was a chance for a  girls get together (without any sales pitch).  The idea was to have fun and help out women in St. Louis and we did!

Everyone brought a snack to share  and some feminine hygiene products. We laughed, ate and had some wine. A perfect girls night in! The total items donated was:
10 boxes of pads
6 boxes of tampons
7 packs of panty liners

IMG_4752What a haul! Items will be donated to Ronald McDonald house and St. Patrick’s Center.IMG_4753

To make the party more festive I hung some signs that were period related..such as

period party 3period party 4

This party was so easy to put together, all I had to do was tell my gal pals about it and buy wine. It was simple. It was little. But the impact was huge! Kindness was spread in many ways that night through donations, sharing of food and old and new friends getting together to laugh (a major stress reliever!).

I encourage you to keep the kindness going and it really doesn’t take much effort. Please include me on your invite list. I would love to support you in acts of kindness!

~E

Leave a Reply

