Time for a reset…

I have lots of amazing things in my life…family, friends…and I have been given many amazing opportunities to become involved in my community and with groups that I hold near and dear to my heart. However, sometimes all these amazing things in my life just become another “thing”.

If you have read my blog this might sound like a familiar post and you would be right. I find myself getting caught in the same cycles. I get really busy, overloaded and stressed and realize I am not having fun or I’m missing out on life around me. While I know the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result, I don’t count these cycles as insanity. I count them as simply being human.

We all want to be happy and live life to the fullest and it’s easy to take that feeling and run with it, but it’s also easy to get caught up in the to do’s and the “I have to”  and the “I shoulds”. The key is that you are able to recognize when things are out of control (or about to be) and telling yourself that something has to give.

I am at that point in my life right now, lots of stuff on my plate that should be fun but is just dragging me down. So I am hitting the reset button. This doesn’t mean that I just say F*** everything, it means taking a deep breath and saying no (without feeling guilty) to stuff that just doesn’t fit on my plate right now, telling myself it will be ok if the to do doesn’t get completely crossed off  my list and remembering it’s ok to slow down.

My intentions are always to not find myself in this position again but inevitably I fall back into wanting to do it all. Maybe one of these times I will learn from my mistakes, at least I am getting better at realizing when it’s time to hit the reset.

 

Leave a Reply

