wake up, wake up, it’s the first on the month

February is here! Since I spent the better part of 2016 super sick I decided that Feb 1st would constitute as my new year. I know, I know to make a change you don’t need a certain date or holiday to make it happen – you just begin working on the change — but this is more fun!

A new month means I have 4 weeks ahead of me to begin working on my goals! The more I thought about it monthly goals might be more attainable instead of spreading things out over a whole year.

So for this glorious month of February I have decided on the following goals

  • Total running mileage: at least 34 miles (some might catch a theme there)
  • Spend 10 min each day de-cluttering or cleaning.  This could be our house, my desk at work or even one of my many email boxes!

I chose 2 goals since it’s the 2nd month of the year and as usual I have a full calendar. Adding a long list of goals won’t be beneficial to me or my sanity.

My thoughts are that I will carry these goals over into the next month and then add one each time (March =3, April =4 and so on – your smart people, you get it).

You might remember I did post about my 2016 goals and using a word to focus on -which was simplify. I think I am still following that logic, I set attainable goals to complete by end of month. The running is a goal I know I can achieve, I need to put it on my calendar so I do it but it’s not one that will stress me out — and running has always been a stress reliever for me. De-cluttering is constantly on my to do list and I usually end up ignoring it because it seems so daunting!

But in the words of the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (I think) you can do anything for 10 min (although she might have said seconds…) I think just telling myself it’s only 10 min will keep me motivated to do it each day and little by little my de-cluttering/cleaning will get done and maybe even become a habit!

Happy February! Enjoy the extra day this month!

~E

 

Leave a Reply

