Number 81: Eat a Grilled Cheese*

A few years back I made my news years resolution to try 50 new things. At the end of the year I decided that trying new things was a good thing and I should carry it over year to year.

Well folks number 81 is pretty monumental! In case you don’t know I am EXTREMELY picky – so much so that I don’t really like a lot of “normal” foods- like macaroni and cheese, ketchup, pickles, fish…it’s a pretty long list. The list did include grilled cheese for a very long time.

Then I found this recipe for Pistachio-Parsley Pesto and Grilled Taleggio Cheese Sandwiches. Many of the items in this recipe are at the top of my favorite foods list. We had these for lunch one day and they were so yummy!

However, I am sure many of you are saying that is not a real grilled cheese sandwich – hence the * in the title. While this might not be the classic grilled cheese you grew up with, and I continue to refuse to eat, it’s still cheese grilled in between bread. What can I say, I have refined tastes and if I am going to eat a grilled cheese it’s going to be fancy dammit!

With lent fast approaching this was a great find, it adds a little more variety to my Friday choices. I recommend trying this recipe – who knows you just might find a new favorite! Maybe we can have a fancy grilled cheese eating date.

~E

 

 

Leave a Reply

