Putting the me in motivation…wait….what?!

When it comes to getting stuff done I only have so much motivation. Often I need to turn to other options in order gear myself up for large projects or goals (cough, cough – running a half marathon). While I use social media to keep me accountable and draw motivation from outside sources,  there are a few others ways I motivate myself.

One of these is my inspiration door.  This is the door we use the most to go in and out the house (side note: right now it’s the only door, due to some door drama which I will tell you about in a later post). It’s the door I see when I am getting ready to go out for a run. I change what I put on the door after each race. Sometimes it’s just a few items that go up on the door sometimes it’s more. One time I put my weight up on the door to remind that exercising would lower that number.  Currently I have two sayings (both found on Pinterest):

I Run To Be Fierce

and

It’s important to remember that each foot strike carries you forward, not backward. And every time you put on your running shoes you are different in some way than you were before.

IMG_3710

Right now these encompass what I need. The run to be fierce amps me up for a run and is a reminder that running is a hard sport but doing it kinds of makes me a bad ass. It just feels good to say I am fierce! The other saying helps me through the bad days. I might not have a good run every time but I am better off than not running. Anytime I run I am working towards a goal, I’m not giving up. Sometimes that’s all you need to turn a run around. Keep going, keep putting one foot in front of the other.

These signs on the door stick with me as I head out to run. They can sometimes by my mantra as I run – stay fierce, move forward! stay fierce, move forward! There is nothing that says go faster, go longer. It’s all about keeping moving, not giving up. That is what motivates me, I am not concerned about being the fastest or pushing for longer distances.

New this training cycle is my training paper chain – seen here in our basement.

IMG_3701

I made a loop for each day leading up to the half. The loop contains the training activity for that day – whether it be 4 miles at easy pace or a rest day or speed work. Can you tell I am a visual person! Seeing the loops disappear shows me how close the half is getting and that I have the training I need to achieve my goal. Yes, it is color codded by the type of activity.  Stay tuned for a later post where I take you through a week of training complete with pictures of the training chain activities.

So these are some of the ways I keep my motivation up while training.  Along with support from family and friends these keep me moving, because out on that 13.1 course you need to find your inner strength and your inner motivation – the funny signs spectators hold up help too!

~E

Leave a Reply

