Cupcakes + Beer

Cupcakes and beer a great combination! With it being summer I thought these Summer Shandy cupcakes would be a fun experiment. Plus everyone knows that when you cook with beer you get to drink the leftovers!

For those you going “what is Summer Shandy”? – it’s only the most perfect summer beer! It’s a lemony beer made by Leinenkugel, if you haven’t tried it you totally should go buy some. I’m not a huge lemon fan but this beer is crisp and refreshing. Hmmm it sounds like I work for Leinenkugel, nope just a fan.

Anyway, back to the cupcakes. The batter comes together pretty easy and you only need a cup of the beer so you have some leftover to enjoy while these bake. The recipe includes lemon zest and lemonade powder so these do come out with lemon taste but it’s not over powering. The icing also calls for lemon juice and lemon zest – but very small amounts. It does sound like a lot of lemon in one sitting but really it’s not overly lemon.

These were fun to make and to tell people they were beer cupcakes. They weren’t super fluffy like cupcakes usually are but they weren’t dry. They kind of fell in the middle of the pack, but they are ones I would make again. I even made the cream cheese icing this time. Me and icing have a weird relationship. I truthfully could do without icing on any cake or cupcake. I was the kid at the party that wanted a middle piece so I got more cake than icing. That being said when I come across cakes or cupcakes with icing I don’t scrap it off; I definitely eat it. I have also been known to eat icing straight from the can when my sweet tooth flares up. So it’s not that I don’t like icing it’s just that I can take it or leave it and I don’t put a lot of energy into making it. Often I buy the stuff in the can because I do enjoy decorating cupcakes and icing is a large part of that.

Cupcakes fresh from the oven

IMG_3593

Happy Baking!

~E

Leave a Reply

