Pistachios for Pat

My mom is pistachio lover- a trait which I inherited (in fact they are the only nut I eat). For her birthday I decided to give this recipe for pistachio pound cake a try. It’s a pretty straightforward recipe – you know 2 sticks of butter here, some eggs, sugar etc. So maybe not the healthiest of recipe (espcially when you put the glaze on it…can we say heavy cream) but birthdays don’ t have calories right?

IMG_3550

I liked this recipe because it didn’t call for pistachio jello to give the pound cake it’s flavor – you use actual pistachios! For some reason I always feel like I am cheating by using the jello as a flavor and sometimes it can come off tasting fake.

The recipe is an easy one to follow but this was a pretty dense and heavy pound cake.  I think I will keep looking and give this one the boot – maybe find something a little more waistband friendly.

At least it looked pretty on the plate right?!

~E

Leave a Reply

