Being happy #4

After posting about my “I get to” post I realized that I hadn’t chosen my next activity from my happy book. The next activity I picked was in relation to Hermy the elf from the rudolph the red nosed reindeer claymation movie. Hermy wants to be a dentist, which is not something that is very popular but makes him happy. This activity focused on activities that aren’t considered popular but make me happy.

This one really made me think. One of the first things that came to mind is reading. I love to read and could spend hours just reading alone by myself. To many this sounds awful especially with so many shows to watch on Netflix. And when I say reading I mean a hard copy book with pages. I refuse to read a book on a tablet or other device (another unpopular thing). I love the feel of the book in my hands, the action of turning the pages and the smell. Yes, the smell. Those paper pages hold a nice scent that just draws me into the story.

Another thing is I love to do is plan. Wedding shower? Baby shower? Trivia Night? Game Night? Sign me up! I really enjoy putting the details together and putting the little touches on the day. To many people the idea of hosting or planning an event is awful, but I love it. Planning can get stressful sometimes but seeing the smiles and enjoyment on guests faces makes it all worth it – at least to me. Plus I get to be in favorite spot – behind the scenes! I don’t like being the center of attention but I do enjoy letting others shine.

I’m sure there are other things that fit this list but these two stuck out to me. I know these aren’t extreme examples but they have set me apart in many situations. This used to make me uncomfortable but as I have gotten older I have realized that this is what makes me me! I’m ok with being that girl reading a book on the lawn of the amphitheater before the concert starts or pulling out the stops for an event. If I shied away from these things I wouldn’t be true to myself and that in turn wouldn’t make me happy.

So go out there and do the things you love! They will truly make you happy!

~E

Leave a Reply

