The sweet smell of…..

PUMPKIN!

I have been a major slacker when it comes to Pinerest these days. I am trying to be better though. I even created a board called To Try This Month in order to keep me on track.  So here goes, what better place to get back on track then with pumpkin!

The first recipe I tried was Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls with Pumpkin Spice Glaze

These turned out OK, I was a little nervous because this recipe meant making cinnamon rolls from scratch! I had to use yeast and everything. But they came together pretty easy and as a nice bonus there were any crazy ingredients. These didn’t come out as pretty as the picture in the pin but lets be real here I was the only eating these so I was more concerned on how they tasted. I made the glaze as well but didn’t pour over all of the cinnamon rolls. I left glaze off and used it more as a dipping sauce. The main reason was I wasn’t sure I was going to like the glaze and didn’t want to ruin the whole dish.

You can definitely see that I used pumpkin with the nice orange-ish color but they were not extremely pumpkin heavy in taste. The glaze did turn out to be pretty good and did help with bringing out the pumpkin.

I gave this pin the ax though. Lets face I am lazy and if I want cinnamon rolls I am perfectly content to let the Pillsbury dough boy do the hard work.

IMG_3299[1]

Next up was Banana Pumpkin Spice Muffins

This pin caught my eye because we usually have bananas that are past there prime sitting on top of our fridge. I am always looking for new ways to use brown bananas.  Plus this pin also had the headline of only 2 Weight Watchers points. I have no clue how WW works or if 2 points was good or bad but I figured they would be healthier than regular muffins.

Further reading showed that there were only 3 ingredients – a major bonus. And one of those ingredients was pumpkin – things just keep getting better! Although I was worried about taste since you only use spice cake mix, bananas and pumpkin. Yep, that’s it! You mix all three together and put in muffins tins and bake.

I ended up doing 12 muffins and a loaf, This makes a lot! As for as taste go I give them a 7 out 10. They are moist and cakey but the taste you get is mainly the spice cake. I left in some chunky pieces of the banana so in a few bites there was banana piece. There is not a large taste of pumpkin but these will do in a pinch  and really easy. I liked that it made a lot and that it worked as muffins or as a loaf. I am keeping this pin but not on the pumpkin pleasures board, this will live on the Stuff I Have Made And Will Make Again.

Not sure I would take them to a party but they would good if I have a cakey craving and are probably better for the waistline than making actual muffins. However, heating these in the microwave and adding a little butter or ice ceam does amp up their sweetness factor.

My next couple of pins won’t be pumpkin I promise!

Stay Tuned!

~E

 

Leave a Reply

