Cone-a-rific

This pin intrigued me and looked like something that would be fun to make. Plus they would be super cute for a party or get together.

I first tried to cheat and do this with crescent rolls but it didn’t work out so well. The crescent rolls are pretty small so they don’t provide you with a lot of room for your sandwich pieces. Although they might work nice as chicken salad bites.

In order to fully evaluate the pin I did actually make the bread from scratch. I even bought bread flour, which I have a lot left over so there might be some more bread making in my future. The bread making was actually pretty easy – just not a quick process. The recipe called for a few items I had never worked with – break flour and yeast. I was nervous about working with the new ingredients but in the end was as bad as I thought it would be.

After the bread dough had risen I wrapped it around my freshly made bread cones and popped them in the oven. They turned out ok, if I do this again I will make longer dough ropes so that I can wrap more around the cone. These puff when you cook them so if I had spread them out a little more that might not have been as bulky.  Overall they were pretty cute and would another take on  having sandwiches at a party.

 

Here is the inside – ready for all your favorite sandwich ingredients.

IMG_3296[1]

A few pictures of the finished product complete with my pretty foil cones. I ended throwing away my foil cone creations because they would have been a pain to store. They are pretty easy to whip up – especially since you need to let your dough for an hour.

IMG_3297[1]IMG_3294[1]

 

Happy baking!

~E

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

