Number 80: Visit Texas

Ok so I have been in Texas a few years ago – but it was layover in the Dallas airport. So to me it doesn’t count if you don’t leave the airport. This is the case for Vegas too. I have gambled in the airport but never set foot on the strip as they say.

Since my brother and his family moved to Katy, TX (just outside of Houston) a little over a year ago for his job I decided to pay them a visit and spend Halloween with one of the cutest nephews around. While everyone was very sad to see them go we were happy they ended up someplace cool. Houston is a lot better than say North Dakota (sorry to any North Dakotaians reading this, but you know it’s true).

Luckily Southwest flies into Houston directly so I didn’t have to worry about missing connecting flights or any of that fun flying stuff. I am not one of those people that can sleep on a plane so I always have a book in hand to get me through the flight. Added bonus this time was that I had drink coupons so I had a nice flight reading my book and sipping on an Irish coffee. Not a bad way to start my trip!

And what a great trip it was. I have an amazing brother who picked me up from the airport at 10pm even though he had to be up at 4:30am the next day for work and an amazing sister in law who let me tag along with her on her Friday outings including a trip to the doctor for an ultrasound of my new niece arriving March 2015.  But one of the best parts of my trip was that I got to see and play with my nephew who is 2 and half.

IMG_3104[1]

This how much I love my nephew – I put on a cowboy hat for the whole night, in public! Not a country fan so don’t get used to this.

It was a pretty busy weekend.  I spent most of time just soaking up all the family time I could get with both my immediate family and my extended family. My good friend also lives in Houston not far from my brother. She just had a very cute little boy. So a stop to get some baby cuddles was a must. It’s still hard to believe she is a mom – weren’t we just planning our Friday night trip to the mall and worrying what we would wear?

Although it was only a quick trip (Friday – Sunday) I was able to see some sites – including the outlet mall- but most importantly I got to hang out with those near and dear to my heart. As I sat on the plane waiting to head back to St. Louis I couldn’t help but smile, I am one lucky girl to have such great people in my life. Hopefully next time I can spend more time with everyone!

IMG_3116[1]

Woody shared some his Halloween with me, how sweet!

IMG_3109[1]

My brother with my nephew trick or treating with friends

 

IMG_3132[1]

Just being goofballs!

Till next time! giddy up cowboy, I am riding into the sunset ( or something like that)

~E

Leave a Reply

