Do I smell pumpkin?

Well my goal this fall was to be whipping up pumpkin recipes left and right and well that didn’t happen. Life just got to crazy busy to be in the kitchen. However, I was able to get a few recipes under my belt.

The first was Pumpkin Truffles. These were a HUGE disappointment not to mention a HUGE mess. I will admit that I did not include the gingersnap crumbles that are listed in the recipe. Not because I have anything against gingersnaps but because I forgot to buy them. Truthfully, they might have helped the mixture hold up a little better. I mixed everything and froze them as the recipe instructed but they were still a sticky mess as I dolloped them into the cookie sheet. With them being so sticky it made it pretty much impossible to dip them in the melted chocolate. They tasted ok but were not impressive enough to stay pinned.  Plus they would have looked horrible being displayed on a plate since the chocolate dried at odd and sometimes sharp angels.

Up next was Mini pumpkin pie croissant. I had high hopes for these. But unfortunately they were pretty gross. The first ones out of the oven were ok, kind of bland even with all the sugar. I think these needed some cinnamon or brown sugar for sweetness. And these did not keep well in the Tupperware on my counter. They tasted pretty sour the next day so they met with the trashcan and the pin got deleted.

Never fear there was one semi successful recipe Mini Cinnamon Rolls. At first I wasn’t sure if I would be able to find the  Pillsbury® Crescent Recipe Creations Seamless Dough Sheet that was listed as an ingredient. I had never heard of such a thing! But there is was at my local Schnucks store. The quirky thing with this recipe is that you use Pumpkin butter instead of pumpkin puree found in most recipes. The butter is easier to work with than pumpkin pie filling and tasted ok, not as pumpkiny as I would have liked.

Here is a picture of them before going into the oven. I need to work on my roll cutting skills.

 

IMG_3006

 

And a picture of the finished product.

IMG_3007

While these weren’t  disasters like the other recipes they were just ok and I think there is a better pumpkin cinnamon roll recipe out there for me try. So my quest for yummy pumpkin recipes continues and hopefully life will slow down a bit so I can actually have some baking time. But don’t worry just because I don’t have time to bake doesn’t mean I am not getting my pumpkin fix. This time of year my pumpkin radar is on and I am that person that if it says pumpkin on it I will buy it. I might not continually buy it – like pumpkin spice M&Ms. These are just basically M&M’s with a hint of spice that kicks in in the end. Now I know and can pass them up in the grocery store.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

~E

 

One thought on “Do I smell pumpkin?

Leave a Reply

