A pin here a pin there

Yep, I am still addicted to Pinterest and slowly trying the massive amount of pins I have pinned.

Beer Dip (http://www.ladybehindthecurtain.com/beer-dip/) – This was easy to make but basically just tasted like a cheesy ranch dip. This one got the delete button. I think there are much more appealing appetizers out there.

Cannoli cupcakes (http://www.cookingclassy.com/2012/10/cannoli-cupcakes/) – This one is a keeper! I had to admit that making frosting with ricotta cheese scared me a bit but they turned out super yummy. While I might choose an actual cannoli over a cannoli cupcake this make a good substitute.

No-Bake Chocolate Eclair Dessert (http://www.thekitchenismyplayground.com/2012/03/no-bake-chocolate-eclair-dessert.html) This one has me on the fence. It was pretty easy to make but mine didn’t turn out as pretty as the picture in the blog post. I plan to keep the recipe handy in case I need to bring a dessert somewhere and I don’t feel like cooking.

cauliflower casserole  (http://foodpinsnow.com/?p=2204) – Hands down this was a major win and I will be making it again.  The recipe calls for 2lbs of cauliflower but I would use more cauliflower next time.  The mixture ath you pour over the cauliflower makes it super cheesy and I felt like the cauliflower got lost. The blog post attributed it to healthy mac and cheese- which I disagree with. First off I don’t like mac and cheese and I enjoyed this dish and second the mounds and cheese, cream cheese and heavy whipping cream in the recipe don’t make this recipe healthy.

Coffee Banana smoothie (http://www.foodrecipeshq.com/dense-and-nutritious-coffee-banana-smoothie/) – I was intrigued by this one because I enjoy both coffee and bananas. I did add some spinach to mine to amp up the nutrition. I won’t be keeping this recipe but I will be experimenting with adding coffee to some of my favorite smoothie recipes.  The coffee isn’t over powering and it’s a nice change from all fruit smoothies. Plus it’s a great way to use left over coffee!

Slow Cooker meatballs (http://addapinch.com/cooking/2012/11/06/slow-cooker-cocktail-meatballs-recipe/#axzz2ocXyFwOn) Meatballs are a fan favorite at gathering and since I had never made meatballs I decide to try out this recipe. They turned out pretty good but I think I will let this recipe go and experiment with a few others before calling anything my go to meatball recipe. These turned out a little on the sweet side so I might look for a little spicier recipe for next time.  However, I was impressed with how quick these came together.

Cupcake pie (http://thedomesticrebel.com/2013/08/30/cupcake-pie/I was really skeptical about this being edible. The recipe calls for you to use store bought cupcakes and then pour the pie mixture over them and bake. I really thought I would have a pie pan of burnt cupcakes. But I was wrong. This does make an edible dessert.  Although it won’t be one I make again. While this was pretty simple to prepare it was super duper sweet! Don’t get me wrong I have a major sweet tooth and even I couldn’t take more than a few bits. Below is a picture before I put it in the oven and the finished product.

IMG_1929[1]Snap1

Peekaboo pumpkin pound cake  (http://www.familycookbookproject.com/recipe/3025946/peekaboo-pumpkin-pound-cake.html) – This was another one that I didn’t think would be successful.  I thought the middle would burn since that bread had been cooked already. However, this does work. I tweaked the recipe a bit and used banana bread and cut out crescent moons instead of pumpkins. I didn’t think about the fact that crescent moon cutcuts won’t really stand up in the middle of the pan. So I had to lean them one side in order to pour the pound cake batter over them. All in all I would say it worked. and would definitely try this again with other shapes.

IMG_1951[1]IMG_1952[1]

I had a mixture of wins and losses in this last round of pins. Looking forward to trying out future pins!

Happy pinning

~E

Leave a Reply

