13 in 13 completed

 IMG_1948

I did it! I did it! I did it! My 2013 New Years resolution was to run 13 5k’s in 2013 and I accomplished it. I think it is fitting that number 13 was also the sweetest one.

5K number 13 was the Hot Chocolate 5K.  A 5K that winds through the streets of downtown and after you cross the finish line you get hot chocolate and chocolate fondue. Yum Yum! I picked this one for a number of reasons 1. You are rewarded with chocolate upon finish 2. The swag was awesome – a pull over embroiled hoodies with finger holes 3. Proceeds benefited Ronald McDonald House.

I did get a little luckier with the weather this time, 25 degrees at start time! Hey I will take a 2 digit number of a 1 digit number any day. The race went well and the chocolate was yummy.

This is a race I would do again, maybe I might even sign up for the 15K portion.

Part of me is amazed I was able to fully complete this resolution. Since my injury in mid October I wasn’t sure if I would be able to run at all. But by doing my pt homework diligently, even when I didn’t want to, I was able to complete what I set out to do in 2013. It worked out nicely that I did 2 in January so that each month after only had to do one or two . This was definitely  a fun and rewarding resolution it was rewarding  for both me and the community. I would say that pretty all the races benefited a group or cause. I also benefited because not only did I continue to run but it pushed me to run again after an injury. I was scared to run again but the drive to complete my resolution pushed me to recover and be stronger.

Running is an escape for me, putting feet to pavement strengthens my body and my mind.  Wether it’s 1 mile, 3 miles or 13.1 each mile proves my strength and continually helps me live a longer and better life.IMG_1946

Thanks for following me on this journey!

~E

Leave a Reply

