5k Number 10…running in style

Well I have made it into the double digits of 5K’s, which means there are only 3 more to go!! 5K number 10 was exciting not only because the course was through Frontenac but because it was free!!!

Yes, part of the reason I took on this resolution was because I could stay fit and help out charities but it does get a little pricey. I am came upon this one by chance after seeing a random facebook post about it. The athletic store lululemon was hosting, the run began outside Plaza Frontenac (where the only STL store is located) and circled through St. Joe’s campus (booo!). The race course was pretty easy, a few small inclines nothing to terrible. Although this was one of those courses that did a loop meaning it wasn’t a 3.1 mile circle it didn’t bother me too much. I guess because the course was pretty twisty so you didn’t feel like you just ran to one end and turned around.

Another reason might be because I was kicking ass that day! I had my best 5K time during this race – and this is after I ran 11 miles the previous morning and tailgating for the SEMO football game in the afternoon. And at the finish line we were greeted with chocolate and margaritas! Yum, yum, yum.

This was a fun 5K, they had lots of great food (pumpkin bagels!!), music, a pre race warm up and yoga afterwards. The only downside was that instead of a race shirt you got a bag. Which I love but I wanted to take all my 5K shirts and make a quilt. Guess I will have to back to lululemon and do some shopping! Ok maybe this is more of a win than I thought!

I would do this 5K again and appreciated all the work the lululemon team put into this (free) event. It was a great way to start a Sunday.

Onto number 11…where will it take me????

Leave a Reply

