5K number 7…and my fans

 
 
Can you believe it 5K number 7 already! Where is the time going?? I checked the Big River Running race calendar and found the Seize the Day 5K which benefitted the Epilepsy Foundation. The 5K started and ended at the Kirkwood community center near Kirkwood park. We often had our family reunions at that park so I found this 5K a fitting choice. Even more fitting was the fact that Maritz (my employer) was a race sponsor. I didn’t find this out until I picked up my race shirt, which was way to big for me wear on race day.
 
I was glad that the race started at 7:30am since we have had some hot days this week. It was already near 80 when I arrived at the race. Gotta love that St. Louis weather!
 
The race went well despite how muggy it was that morning. One thing that I had forgotten was that Kirkwood is hilly. And most are those are annoying hills that gradually incline and you just hope you reach the top soon. The course was a nice loop though, which are my favorite and I got to see a little bit more of Kirkwood than I have before. The streets weren’t closed off but they had volunteers at each intersection to help with traffic and pedestrian flow. Overall it was a good course and I kept my usual 5k pace despite the hills.
 
After the race I met up with my brother, my sister in law, my nephew, my mom and Jake for breakfast at Kaldis in Kirkwood. We sat outside and continually ran after my nephew who is not content to just sit anymore since he learned to walked. But I had 3 miles under my belt I was ready to do some chasing. Together we celebrated number 7, below is picture of almost everyone raising a 7 – I think we confused my nephew.
 


 
Some of my biggest supporters and a cute little family!

 
Onto number 8!!
~E

Leave a Reply

