Number 64: Where the Wilds things are……………..at age 31

Where the Wild Things are by Maurice Sendak is a beloved childhood book that most kids grow up. But not this girl! Don’t get me wrong I grew up in house full of books and fun just not this book.

I have recently been visiting our local library a lot and I decided that I would visit the children’s section. I checked out the book and the movie in the same trip in order to get the full Where the Wild Things are experience.

Turning books into movies is a tricky process. In most cases I have found that the book is better than the movie.  I am a strong advocate for reading a book before seeing a movie, that way I can formulate the vision of the characters for myself. Plus it’s fun to see how Hollywood thinks the characters should be cast.

In the case of Where the Wild Things Are I liked the book and I am sure as a child I would have liked it as well. However, I was not a fan of the movie at all. It was very slow moving and just didn’t feel like it kept up with the flow of the book.

I give the book two thumbs up and the move two thumbs down.

Now onto number 65………………………

Leave a Reply

