The lesson of reading the recipe to the very end…………..

Last week I made my final pumpkin recipe to closeout pumpkin month – crockpot pumpkin bread. I gathered all my ingredients and began mixing and stirring moving through each step. Then I came to one of the final steps  – put the batter in your loaf pan and put in the crockpot. In my mind I kept thinking the batter would go directly into the crockpot. And guess what my loaf pan didn’t fit in the crockpot!

Of course I was irritated beyond belief. I quickly rummaged through the cabinets looking for another option but could not find one. So I put the batter in the loaf pan and put it in the oven. In the end the house did end up smelling wonderful and the bread was yummy but I felt I didn’t fully try the recipe. Guess I am buying a smaller loaf pan in the near future!

You would think I would have taken this experience and used it in further cooking. Nope! I decided to try out this recipe for banana chocolate chip baked doughnuts. I got all the way down to the last step – pour batter in your doughnut pan. doughnut pan? they make those? So I had to improvise again and make doughnut cookies – basically they turned out kind of like a Missouri Bakery chocolate drop. I would make these again and in “cookie” form.

The true lesson I should take from this (besides read the ENTIRE recipe before starting) is that I need to slow down! Take the time to commit to things and give them my all. Yes, I know it sounds a little over the top for something as simple as a recipe but the fact is I didn’t take the time to read all the way through cause I was so worried about finishing the recipe and moving onto the next project.

To often I am so concerned about crossing off all the things on my to do list that I am not enjoying the activity I am taking part in. I have tried to slow down more and us N-O when being asked to head this committee or be at this event or be involved in every activity under the sun. Let me tell you it has not been easy. Although I do complain sometimes, I love to be busy: as I have said before it makes me feel needed. But in the end when I take on too much I cheat not only myself but the activity because I am thinking about what’s next not the present. I have slowed down a bit and with this trivial little recipe piece I realize that I might have to revisit that promise I made to myself several months back.

Here is to living life to the fullest — but taking time for me too!

~E

Leave a Reply

