I will run again

One foot in front of the other, that is what I told myself as I trained for the half marathon last October. This saying rings true as we digest the act of terrorism at the Boston marathon. In order to show those responsible that they haven’t won we need to get back out there one foot in front of the other. I know the next 5k I do security might be on mind a little more, in fact there have been times when I have been at a race and wondered what if some emergency happened. What would I do? Would I be prepared? While I never imagined a bomb going off, when you are in a large group of people in an open area you do have thoughts of what is a gun went off or the person next me had a heart attack??? But when it comes down to it I am a runner and the “what could happen” thoughts can’t win.

I pray that this act doesn’t scare people into hanging up their running shoes or staying home and not cheering on loved ones. I know as a runner the spectators and their enthusiasm and signs make a huge impact on the motivation of a runner. They are just as vital along the course as the water stations. There is such a joy in seeing a familiar face or strangers face smiling back at you. One of my all time favorite signs from my first half was ” I don’t know you but I am proud of you” a close second was the one that said “Your training lasted longer then Kim Kardashins marriage”. Motivating signs are very helpful but so are the funny ones!

There is no certainty in this life and you can only be prepared for so much. But I won’t let this slow me down. I will run again. I will put one foot in front of the other.

Leave a Reply

