Where have all the pins gone?

So life has been crazed! Which means not a lot of time for extra stuff – like experimenting with pins. But I have had some time to work on a few.

Pretzel shamrocks– I wanted to make something for our St. Pat’s day parade party tent and I found this pin. My first set I used a Hershey kiss which worked OK but it didn’t melt very well and I had to do a lot smashing with my fingers. This was tricky because those pretzels get hot! A co-worker mentioned that rolos work a lot better – and they have carmel in them– bonus!!! I tried the rolo and had better (easier) results. When I first got these assembled I was ready to file this pin in the fail category. But after letting the chocolate harden I got a stable shamrock. This is def. on the keep and do again list!







Strawberry candy – When I am in the mood for something sweet I usually go for something in the cake or chocolate family not the sugary family. But every once in a while I like a sugary snack like a twizzler or sugary candy. I thought these would be fun to try and I had strawberries in the fridge that wouldn’t last much longer.  The pin didn’t give much instruction except put the strawberries in the oven at 3hrs on 210 degrees. I followed the instructions but I cut the strawberries in half and this is what I got
The pin showed these big red pieces of chewy candy. There was barley any strawberry left to even try to pry off the pan. While this is a fail, I think I might try this again with whole larger strawberries. I think when I cut them I made them too small and they dried out too much. I don’t really have high hopes for it but who knows maybe it will work. You never know with these Pinterest things!
Slow Cooker French Onion Meatballs – I am always looking for fun appetizer to either serve at my house or bring with me to an event. Meatballs are usually a crowd favorite so I was excited to try these. They were super easy to make – buy frozen meatballs and 2 cans french onion soup. Put them in the crock pot together for 4 hours and there you go instant appetizer. They turned out pretty good, I think next time I might make real meatballs as I wasn’t a fan of these frozen ones. So it was a semi win – they weren’t terrible but they didn’t wow me.
Banana Cake with cream cheese icing –This one was a win! Especially since I had a ton of overripe bananas from an event we did at work.  The cake was moist and had a strong banana flavor. The only issue I had was you need to eat it fast with fresh bananas in it you can’t let this cake sit around long or you get a sour banana cake. I was surprised that I only needed to use about 4 tablespoons of butter, usually cake from scratch you are using at least a stick of butter. This goes in the will make again pile! If you like bananas I recommend this pin.
Like I said my calendar has been pretty packed so pinning had taken a backseat. This was a short pin post but I promise I am still pinning and recording my hits and misses. Stay tuned.
~E


Leave a Reply

