So fresh and so clean……thanks Pinterest!

One of my boards on Pinterest is Tips and Tricks. On this board I pin ideas to make life easier; a lot of these pins include cleaning and laundry tips. The first pin I tried was for the bath tub. Below is the “recipe”

Tub Cleaner – vinegar and dish soap, no scrubbing! Heat 1/2C white vinegar in m’wave for 90 sec, pour int spray bottle. Add 1/2C BLUE Dawn dish soap. Shake gently to mix. Spray on surface, let it sit 1-2 hours. Just wipe it away then rinse with water. Should also take soap scum off shower doors!

Truthfully I didn’t have high hopes for this working. Our tub is pretty old and dirt just seems to stick to it. But I thought it couldn’t hurt to try. The downside was that you need to heat the vinegar for 90 seconds so the house smelled like vinegar for about 30 min. It’s not a bad smell but it’s not the most inviting smell in the world.

I mixed the concoction and applied to the tub, then let it sit for about an hour an half. I was too impatient to wait for the full 2 hours – and I had to take a shower. When I turned on the water the dirt began to move and go down the drain!! It took a little prompting with my foot but in the end the section I applied this mixture to was sooo much cleaner than I had ever gotten it. And I have spent some time scrubbing that tub. 

I fully recommend doing and it has now become part of my cleaning ritual.

Here is a picture of tub with the “recipe”. This picture makes our but look disgusting. I promise I clean it often. I tried to take an after picture but the shadows in the bathroom didn’t do it justice. I did only half the tub so I could see a comparison and in person it’s amazeballs!! This is a pin that works.

I also took the time to try one of the laundry tips I found. My favorite white shirt went through the wash with a striped blue shirt and came out with a blueish tint – which you can’t really see in this picture. Since I have never been able to find a white shirt that I like as much as this one I was on a mission to restore it.

I found the following whitening tip

HOT HOT HOT water
1 cup of laundry detergent
1 cup powdered dish washer detergent
1 cup bleach
1/2 cup borax

After filling the washing machine with HOT water….I also dumped in a large-sized pot of water I had brought to a boil on the stove. I was looking for HOT HOT HOT water, just like Katie said.
Another thing to remember is to add the above ingredients to as small a load size as possible. You are looking forCONCENTRATED cleaning power, and the more water you have in the tub, the less concentrated it will be. Shoot for BARELY enough water to cover the article. 
Let soak for as long as you can stand it. 

http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/04/miracle-laundry-whitening-solution.html

You are supposed to let it soak in the washing machine but since we have a front loading machine I thought this might be two difficult so I did it in the tub. I thought it would give the tub another cleaning as well. I actually boiled a pot of water to put in the tub and added some hot water from the tub itself.  I let this soak for about 8 hours then washed it. 

The top is the before and the bottom is the after


Another success – kind of. Most of the blueish tint came out, but now it’s kind of splotchy so I think I may need another soaking with less water and a longer time frame. But the shirt did get whiter!

I would call this a win and would consider using it again for whitening. However, my issue with this is the borax. I was only able to find it in a large box and we won’t use it for anything else. So I do have a supply but I only see myself using this for special items and not on a regular basis.
Two pins tried and two pins that have truth in them. Plus they were super easy. I guess sometimes you can believe what you read on the internet!
Don’t worry I have several pinned recipes to update you on in the next week or so!

~E
Leave a Reply

