Number 52: Use a paring knife

Yes, I have been spending some more time in the kitchen (thanks to Pinterest!) which means using new cooking tools. One of these tools is a paring knife.

Truthfully I had never heard of a paring knife until a recipe called for me to use it. According to dictionary.com the definition is  a small knife with a short blade and firm handle, used in paring fruit and vegetables – but I am sure you already knew that. Luckily, we were headed to the outlet mall about a week before I needed this new utensil. I was able to get a pretty good one at good price. Woo-hoo!

I needed the knife in order to hollow out strawberries so I could fill them with cheesecake. When I originally read the recipe I thought this was going to be a disaster – strawberries are pretty small to be hollowing out. But with my new handy dandy paring knife the task was pretty easy. Somewhat time consuming as I can be a bit of a perfectionist and wanted each strawberry to look the same. Using the paring life wasn’t as scary I thought it would be either, the knife really does make the job easier. If you don’t have one I recommended purchasing one.

In the end I was able to make a nice plate of cheesecake stuffed strawberries – and they were a hit. They will definitely be on my go to recipe list.

Onto the big 5 -3………………………………

Leave a Reply

