Being an Aunt

OK so I am a total slacker and have not been blogging – sorry. I promise that more posts in a more timely manner are on the way.

Now onto the main reason for this post — I am an Aunt (again). My brother and his wife welcomed Lucas (Luke) Patrick Corkery on March 13. Our family was so excited to welcome this little bundle of joy into the world and just in time for St. Patrick’s Day.

Jake and I have 2 nieces and a nephew on his side that we see about once a month but Luke is the first on my side. From the minute I got to hold the little guy I was in love with him. He is cute from his head to his toes – even when he cries or pees on me.

It’s still hard to believe that my little brother is a dad! Wasn’t it just yesterday that he was that annoying little kid that wouldn’t stay out of my room?????? Now is he changing diapers and swaddling his son. A new baby is always a joy to any family, but with our  joy there was some sadness because there was someone special missing. My dad would have been so excited to be a grandpa and so proud of my brother. I know that he  is watching over the new family and smiling – and will continue to throughout their lives.
It’s moments like these that you really understand the meaning of family and the impact they make in your life. I would be lost without my family, not only have they taught me many lessons but they have been the ones that have picked me up and told me to keep going and celebrated with me in my successes. As I look at my brother as he starts this new journey in his life I see aspects of my parents and I know that Luke is one lucky kid to born to my brother and sister-in-law.
And along with the joy and sadness there comes the questioning – not for the new parents but to the childless aunt that must want a baby now that she got to hold her nephew. The answer to this question is the answer I have always given to any child question that has come my way. It’s not for me, sorry to disappoint you that I don’t begin gushing yes, yes, yes I want a baby now. I have changed my mind completely, bring on the babies! I was prepared for this to happen, I knew that it would be on peoples minds. My mind however is still in the no baby zone and so is Jake’s. I can’t definitively tell you why I don’t want kids, I just know I am better suited as the favorite aunt instead of the mom. Don’t get me wrong Jake and I talk about our “imaginary” kids and we revisit the kid subject every few months. While it hasn’t been written off completely, every conversation ends with us on the same page – not for us. So to those optimists out there, you can keep hoping that one of these conservations ends differently.
Now onto to cute picture of my nephew:
Leave a Reply

