Number 6: Attend a Baseball Card Show

I have been a baseball fan for as long as I can remember but I was never a baseball card collector. I did have a few cards stashed in a baseball card book that we got as a give away at a baseball game but most of the cards were give aways or prizes out of a cereal box. Besides I only really cared about the Cardinals players not those players on the other teams. Maybe it’s the girl coming out but sitting around staring or trading cards with friends has never been my idea of a good time.

Jake on the other hand collected baseball cards as a kid and teenager and some as an adult.  This year for his birthday he wanted to attend a card show that was coming to St. Louis. Not only to look at the cards but to seek out ticket stubs – his other collecting hobby.

The show was held in a hotel ballroom and each vendor had a table set up with all their cards and collectibles. We browsed through the rows of tables stopping everyone once and awhile to ask about ticket stubs or to view some cool Cardinals collectibles. Unfortunately no one had the ticket stubs Jake was looking for. I did enjoy seeing all the baseball “stuff”, some of these collectors have really old memorabilia or very cool pictures from past seasons and World Series.

I can now say that I have been to a baseball card show, this is one list item I do not see me repeating. Since I am not an avid collector and really only care for the Cardinals these shows are a little boring and there are other places I would rather be.

Here we go to the last 5 (out of 50)…………………………………….

Leave a Reply

