Number 10: Learn to use a sewing machine

Sewing has always meant cross stitching to me – the stamped kind not counted. Most of my projects were items for friends and family having babies or occasionally something for me for our house. However, after my recent cricut purchase I realized there are some many projects I could complete with a sewing machine.

But I didn’t know how to use a sewing machine. The only thing I really knew was what it looked like. So when I found a sewing class at our local Joann’s fabrics I signed up. The class was called Sewing 101: Basics — just what I needed.

The class taught us how to pin materials so we could sew them, create a hem and even make a small bag. We got to learn how to thread the machine – there were so many more steps than I thought there would be. I kind of thought you just added the thread at the top and away you went.

I did ok at my first attempts of using the machine. A few of my lines were a little crooked and some of the back stitching was a little off.  The important part was it looked like a bag – and the goal was to make a bag.

It took a little time to get used to pressing the pedal with my foot and feeding the material through the machine at the same time. There is a lot going on as the material moves through the machine. You need to watch to make sure the material stays straight. Also making sure to take out any pins well in advance of the machine getting to the location on the pin. Our teacher warned us about severe eye injury if the needle hits the pin.

Not only did I get use a sewing machine I also got to practice with an iron – a fancy iron. You know how you can tell when an iron is fancy, well the fact that it starts with a little i (like iphone, ipod etc) and you can set this iron flat on the ironing board when not in use and it will lift itself off the board to avoid any burning. I don’t use an iron EVER so this class gave me experience on two previous unknown machines!

I enjoyed the class and walking away with a finished product. Since I don’t have a sewing machine I probably won’t get  a lot of  practice but I am prepared if I come a cross another sewing machine or maybe if Santa decides I have been a good girl in 2012.

Below is the bag I made during class.

Wow here we go to single digits!!! Number 9……….

Leave a Reply

