Number 14: Try Oatmeal



Breakfast was never a mandatory thing in my house growing up. On weekends we might have some kind of breakfast – coffee cake, bacon sandwiches, McDonalds but it was usually pretty hit or miss.

Oatmeal always just looked like mush to me so I was never inclined to try it. I heard good things about it but had never had the courage to try it. When I saw the box above in the store I decided to take my chances and see if I could add another breakfast item to my diet. Plus it was weight control – always a good thing.
There were several flavors in the box, I decided to try the banana bread flavor. I picked a cold weekend morning to try this new item – and was super excited to that I could make it in the microwave! I ate about half the bowl, I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it. At one point I added a little cinnamon thinking that might make my taste buds more agreeable. It helped a little.

I think I liked the taste but the consistency was the thing turning me off. If I had to eat oatmeal I could but I would not choose it if there were other breakfast options. It may be something that I might experiment with like adding whole fruit or pairing with some toast. Don’t people take oatmeal baths for healthy skin?

Time to move onto a tastier item…………….to 13 we go!
2 thoughts on “Number 14: Try Oatmeal

  1. FWIW, I don't like oatmeal when it's made with the normal amount of water. I like it nice and thick, so I'll reduce the amount of water. Other people like it runny and will add extra water. Oh, and there are some flavors that I really don't like, while others are amazing. If it's a bad flavor, I can't deal with the consistency no matter if it's exactly the way I like it.

  2. I love oatmeal on winter mornings, it keeps me fuller longer and warms me up. I usually make mine with hot water, I'm not a fan of the consistency when it's made in the microwave. Like Jenn said, it's all about the consistency and finding one you like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

