Number 42: Talk in front of a group

My cousin’s wife (my cousin in-law?) asked me to come to Lexington, IL to talk to her daughters girl scout troop and help them earn their Ireland badge. I was thrilled and honored to be asked. Although I was immediately nervous! I decided that this would be a new experience and therefore I could use it for the list.

She wanted me to give them a history of Irish dance and show them some moves. So I began putting my presentation together- and quickly realized I have no clue how to talk to 8 year olds. I sit in a cube for a reason. I took a new approach and highlighted the key elements the dress, the hair, the reason we keep our arms straight etc.

As the day approached I was excited and still very nervous. This trip also meant I get to see some of my favorite family so that helped ease my nerves.

The girls were all excited to see me (which made me more nervous) but I used my notes and tried to talk slow and give them the chance to ask questions.

I danced for them and they kept requesting I keep doing it. Oh man was I was tired but a good tired. I taught them a jig at the end of the presentation to round out their Irish dance experience.

This was the first time I have been requested to talk in front of a group and also the first time giving a presentation I wasn’t being graded on. I had a lot of fun and was honored to be asked. So far this has been my most challenging and fulfilling list item yet.

I have to give a special shout out to all the Corkery family members who made the day sooooo wonderful. I am truly blessed to have each of you in my life.
Leave a Reply

